Alok Shukla Wins Prestigious Goldman Environmental Prize 2024

 why in the news?

Chhattisgarh Bachao Andolan (CBA) chairman and environmentalist Alok Shukla has been chosen for the coveted Goldman Environmental Prize 2024, also referred to as the Green Nobel.


  1. Hasdeo Arand, one of the most thick forests in central India covering up to 170,000 hectares and includes 23 coal blocks, is one of the reasons he was chosen for his environmental protection efforts. He will be honored in the US.
  2. In the tribal-dominated state of Chhattisgarh, he effectively fought against Adani mining to safeguard 445,000 acres of biodiversity-rich forests from 21 proposed coal mines.
  3.  Owing to its high forest cover, the environment ministry declared Hasdeo Arand to be a "No-Go" area for mining in 2009, however it was later allowed to resume mining. The CBA never stopped fighting to end Hasdeo Arand mining.

Hasdeo Arand Forest

  • Hasdeo Arand, a sprawling forest in the northern part of Chhattisgarh is known for its biodiversity and its coal deposits.
  • The forest falls under Korba, Sujapur and Surguja districts with significant tribal population.
  • The Hasdeo river, a tributary of Mahanadi, flows through it.
  • Hasdeo Arand is the largest un-fragmented forest in Central India consisting of pristine Sal (Shorea robusta) and teak forests.
  • It is a noted migratory corridor and has a significant presence of elephants.


Green Nobel Prize

  • The Goldman Environmental Prize (also known as Green Nobel Prize) recognizes individuals for sustained and significant efforts to protect and enhance the natural environment, often at great personal risk.
  • It has been awarded annually by the Goldman Environmental Foundation since 1990.
  • It honours people from the world’s six continental regions: Africa, Asia, Europe, Islands & Island Nations, North America, and South & Central America.
  • The Goldman Prize views “grassroots” leaders as those involved in local efforts, where positive change is created through community or citizen participation in the issues that affect them.
  • Goldman Prize recipients are usually people from isolated villages or inner cities who choose to take great personal risks to safeguard the environment.
  • The winners are announced on Earth Day which is observed on 22nd April every year.

Official Website: https://www.goldmanprize.org/


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Find Us On Facebook

Teaching Aptitude






JNTUK Pre Ph.D Research Methodology Tutorial